Being accused of driving under the influence can impact every area of your life. From your personal relationships to your professional reputation to your future opportunities, the damage that a charge of this nature can cause can be overwhelming. Don't shoulder this burden alone. We'll stand by your side as you strive to protect your rights.
At DaytonaDefense.com, our attorney advocates for Floridians in the face of DUI charges with determination and creativity. He will stop at nothing to pursue the results you need to put this mistake behind you and move forward. With decades of experience in the world of criminal defense and a true passion for pursuing justice in the face of a system that is not always just, Attorney Higgins is ready and willing to fight for you. Schedule a free consultation with our firm today in Daytona Beach to discuss your case and the possible paths forward. We proudly serve the surrounding areas of DeLand, Port Orange, New Smyrna Beach, Palm Coast, Volusia County, and Flagler County.
In the state of Florida, being in actual physical control of a vehicle while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more constitutes drunk driving. In addition, operating a vehicle while under the influence of harmful chemical substances or illegal substances can result in a DUI charge. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the BAC threshold is reduced to 0.04%.
The penalties you may face after being charged with driving under the influence will depend on a variety of factors, including whether this was your first offense, you were arrested with a minor in the vehicle, and your BAC was measured to be 0.15% or more.
If this is your first DUI charge, you may be facing a fine of up to $1,000, a maximum of six months in jail or treatment, license suspension for up to one year, and the possibility of vehicle impoundment and community service hours.
Once you've been charged with a second DUI, you may be required to pay a maximum fine of $2,000 and serve up to nine months in jail. In addition, your license can be suspended for up to five years, and your vehicle could be impounded for 30 days.
If this is your third DUI offense, the possible penalties include a maximum fine of $5,000, up to five years in prison, a ten-year driver's license suspension, and a 90-day vehicle impoundment.
A fourth offense DUI carries some of the most life-altering consequences. After a charge of this severity, you will be required to pay at least $2,000 in fines and spend up to five years in prison. On top of that, your driver's license may be revoked for life.
Whether you've been charged with your first DUI or you have previous offenses on your record, working with an experienced criminal defender is the best way to set yourself up for success as you fight back against your charges. Your financial health, driving privileges, and freedom all depend on your attorney's ability to handle your case. Don't put your trust in just anyone. Let our skilled litigator at DaytonaDefense.com lead the way.
Don't let a DUI charge define your future. Reach out to our attorney in Daytona Beach, Florida as soon as possible to get the dedicated, creative defense you need to combat your charges. Our firm proudly advocates for the rights of accused individuals in the surrounding areas, including DeLand, Port Orange, New Smyrna Beach, Palm Coast, Volusia County, and Flagler County. Schedule a free consultation today to get started.
From hefty fines to jail time to lifetime license revocation, the penalties you could face after being convicted of driving under the influence in the state of Florida can seriously alter your life. Let us help you fight back. At DaytonaDefense.com, we use creative strategies to advocate for our clients' rights in the face of criminal charges. Let us get to work for you.