Penalties for Theft in Florida
Dec. 7, 2021
If you've been accused of theft in Daytona Beach or any of the surrounding areas, the first thing you should do is reach out to our firm, DaytonaDefense.com. Our attorney has decades of experience advocating for the rights of individuals facing petit theft and grand theft charges. We understand the gravity of the situation you're facing, and we'll provide the serious, solutions-oriented representation you deserve.
Schedule a free consultation with us today if you're ready to start moving forward after a theft charge. We proudly fight for the rights of Floridians in DeLand, Port Orange, New Smyrna Beach, Palm Coast, Volusia County, and Flagler County.
What Qualifies as Theft in Florida?
In the state of Florida, the term "theft" is used to describe a variety of crimes, including larceny, shoplifting, misappropriation, and more. Simply put, theft refers to the unlawful taking of products, services, or assets from another party.
You have committed theft if you knowingly obtained or used the property of another party with the intent to:
deprive that party of the right to the property or a benefit from the property, or;
appropriate the property to your own use or the use of others not entitled to use of the property
Penalties for Theft
The penalties you may be facing for a theft crime depend on a variety of factors, including what was stolen, the circumstances surrounding the offense, and the amount taken. Each of these factors comes together to determine the degree of theft you'll be charged with.
Typically, a petit theft charge falls under one of two categories: a first-degree offense or a second-degree offense.
A second-degree petit theft charge involves property valued at less than $100 and carries penalties including up to 60 days in jail, six months of probation, and a maximum fine of $500.
In contrast, you may be facing a first-degree petit theft charge if the property taken totals more than $100 but less than $750. A conviction of this nature could involve jail time of up to one year, probation time of up to 12 months, and a maximum fine of $1,000.
If you have previous theft convictions on your record, you could be facing a felony petit theft charge, in which you face the possibility of up to five years in prison or five years of probation.
In the state of Florida, grand theft is divided into first-, second-, and third-degree offenses.
There is a wide range of offenses that constitute third-degree grand theft. From stolen property valued between $750 and $20,000, to property totaling between $100 and $750 but taken from someone's home, to stolen wills, firearms, motor vehicles, and more. If convicted of third-degree grand theft, you could be facing up to five years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Second-degree grand theft covers crimes involving property valued between $5,000 and $20,000 and stolen during a declared state of emergency or riot, property valued between $20,000 and $100,000, and a few other offenses involving property totaling less than $100,000. A charge of this nature carries with it up to 15 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000.
First-degree grand theft charges are the most serious of all theft offenses. If your case involves stolen property valued at more than $100,000, a semitrailer deployed by an officer of the law, a motor vehicle used as an instrument of the crime, or other qualifying circumstances, you may be facing a maximum sentence of 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Schedule a Free Consultation in Daytona Beach Today
Whether you've been charged with petit or grand theft, your reputation, future, and freedom all hang in the balance. Don't put your trust in just anyone to defend your rights and advocate for the outcome you need to move forward. Turn to our firm, DaytonaDefense.com, to work with an attorney who truly cares about you in Daytona Beach, Florida.